Do you wish you could take your cat everywhere with you?

I know I sure do. I’d love to take Smokey Joe everywhere with me. To look beside me and see his excitement as he saw the world outside home.

In reality, training Joe to come with me would prove challenging. Plus the fact I don’t think I’d be allowed to take him to work with me.

Yet I’ve seen people do it. When I was young I remember seeing a ginger cat happily sat behind its owner, looking out the window on the Paris underground. Or the time I saw a cat patiently sat beside its owner while she shopped in H&M. On both occasions the cat didn’t even have a leash, but the cat never ran away.

When I got Joe I initially intended on taking him outside with a harness. The first few times I put the harness on him, there was a bit of a struggle but eventually I got it on.

Unfortunately Joe protested, walking around the garden as if he had a stack of books on his back. Alongside the constant looks of disgust thrown my way.

Joe soon realised he should perhaps refuse putting the harness on. Every time I stuck a paw through one loop of the harness, he removed another paw from the harness. After an hour struggling, I gave in, he was not going in the harness and I would have to let him explore without me.

I would consider trying again, but he still dodges my attempts at putting his collar on, although I do win that battle.

So yes, my cat has outsmarted me and I have to accept the fact I can’t take him everywhere with me. I can certainly dream though!

Leave a Reply

