My Mum went on a date and I eavesdropped

Ok so I didn’t intentionally eavesdrop, it happened by accident. Right place, wrong time sort of thing.

My doctor had upped my anxiety/depression medication and I had a tension headache that wasn’t easing up. I tried keeping myself distracted and went around my sisters. By 8pm my headache got worse. My sister told me to take some painkillers and head straight to bed when I got home.

I knew my Mum was out on her date during the day and was expecting to come home early evening. Well she wasn’t home when I returned.

At this point, my head had hit migraine level. My head throbbed and I just wanted to curl up in bed. My Mum’s hot beanie took too long in the microwave (one minute in reality) and I could barely keep my eyes open while I waited.

Finally, painkillers swallowed and I could clamber into bed.

I was just dozing off when I heard the back door open, announcing my Mums return. But she wasn’t alone.

The man my Mum was on a date with was a work friend. He had been her friend for four years now and they had never considered themselves more than friends. They always chatted at work and over text, but never met up outside work. Since things recently had turned a bit more flirty, it was time to meet up. But my Mum had her doubts that maybe nothing much would happen and he would leave early evening.

I was sure that was kissing sounds. Was I hearing things? I lay in bed for a bit, dozing but aware of the chatter, giggling and the kissing sounds here and there. Was I hearing right?

Curiosity got the better of me and I crept forward to my bedroom door. I opened the door very slightly, trying to do it slowly as the door creaked. Yes, that was definitely kissing.

I went back to bed but just as I was dozing, I realised I needed to pee. I live in a bungalow with my Mum and brother and the bathroom is near the living room, where they were. I was quite sure they didn’t know I was there and I wasn’t keen on meeting someone I didn’t know in my PJs, but I had to pee or I wouldn’t sleep.

I darted to the bathroom, quick and stealthy, without looking towards the living room. Luckily I’d shut the door to the living room so all I could see were blurs through the glass door. Nothing but silence outside the bathroom and I’m sure all they could was my peeing. Great.

I made it back to my bedroom without any embarrassment and soon the chatter continued. I’m sure they were just as embarrassed as I was.

The next morning as I was getting dressed, I started to hear chatter from my Mum’s bedroom next door. Wow, my Mum’s date really did go well.

I hurriedly got dressed, wanting to be out in the living room first. I was just eating some breakfast when my Mum walked in, grinning.

“Went well then?” I grinned back at my Mum.

“Yeah. We didn’t sleep together like that though.”

I followed my Mum into the kitchen, wanting to find out more.

“I felt a bit awkward last night creeping to the loo. I was sure you didn’t know I was there.”

“We didn’t.” My Mum laughed, her voice dropping to a whisper. “We thought you were still at Laura’s-” (my sister) “until we heard you go to the toilet. Michael-” (my brother) “- walked in and I hadn’t realised he was there. I somehow managed to end up with my head on his lap and it was too late to move by the time Michael walked in. He just put his hand forward and said, hi, I’m Michael, nice to meet you.”

We were just discussing the fact that Mum hadn’t expected him to stay the night, how they got drunk and were chatting for hours, when the guy walked in sheepishly.

“Hi, nice to meet you,” I smirked at this stranger, hoping he hadn’t heard us gossiping like high school girls.

“Nice to meet you.” He smiled back.

After that we sat in the living room, making small talk while my Mum made coffee. When my Mum arrived I was glad to see Smokey Joe walk in, allowing me to focus on rubbing my cats belly and get away from the awkward chit chat. Then with a final ‘nice to meet you’, I escaped to work.

So I somehow managed to put myself in an awkward position. But it was great to see my Mum looking so happy.

Leave a Reply

